Tolkien Calendar 2006

  • Filename: tolkien-calendar-2006.
  • ISBN: 0007208138
  • Release Date: 2005-07
  • Number of pages: 32
  • Author:
  • Publisher:



Following the success of the Lord of the Rings 50th Anniversary Calendar, this year's calendar features paintings by J.R.R. Tolkien himself from the beloved children's classic, The Hobbit.

Tolkien Calendar 2017

  • Filename: tolkien-calendar-2017.
  • ISBN: 0008163391
  • Release Date: 2016-09-22
  • Number of pages: 32
  • Author:
  • Publisher: HarperCollins



This year's calendar features black and white paintings by J.R.R. Tolkien himself from the beloved children's classic, The Hobbit. This year's calendar features 13 paintings and illustrations by J.R.R. Tolkien himself, which were drawn by Tolkien when writing his beloved children's classic, The Hobbit. They provide a fascinating insight into how Tolkien imagined the world of Middle-earth would look.The images are accompanied by extracts from Tolkien's letters, providing exquisite insight into both the writing process, and the illustrations themselves.

The Lay of Aotrou and Itroun

  • Filename: the-lay-of-aotrou-and-itroun.
  • ISBN: 9780008202149
  • Release Date: 2016-11-03
  • Number of pages: 128
  • Author: J. R. R. Tolkien
  • Publisher: HarperCollins



Unavailable for more than 70 years, this early but important work is published for the first time with Tolkien’s ‘Corrigan’ poems and other supporting material, including a prefatory note by Christopher Tolkien.

A Secret Vice

  • Filename: a-secret-vice.
  • ISBN: 0008131392
  • Release Date: 2016-02-11
  • Number of pages: 300
  • Author: J. R. R. Tolkien
  • Publisher:



First ever critical study of Tolkien s little-known essay, which reveals how language invention shaped the creation of Middle-earth and beyond, to George R R Martin s Game of Thrones. This is an annotated edition of Tolkien s seminal 1930s essay A Secret Vice, in which he first revealed his vice of inventing languages in his fantasy fiction. Tolkien s linguistic invention was a fundamental part of his artistic output, to the extent that later on in life he attributed the existence of his mythology to the desire to give his languages a home and peoples to speak them. As Tolkien puts it in A Secret Vice, the making of language and mythology are related functions, in fact coeval and congenital . In the 1930s Tolkien composed and delivered two lectures in which he explored these two key elements of his sub-creative methodology. In 1931 he gave a talk to a philological society entitled A Hobby for the Home . In this talk, later published as A Secret Vice, Tolkien unveiled for the first time to a listening public the art which he had both himself encountered and been involved with since his earliest childhood: the construction of imaginary languages in full or outline for amusement . A Secret Vice would be edited by Christopher Tolkien for inclusion in The Monsters and the Critics and serves as the principal exposition of Tolkien s art of inventing languages. But it has often been neglected by critics and this new critical edition will go some way towards re-opening the debate on the importance of linguistic invention in Tolkien s mythology and the role of imaginary languages in fantasy literature. In addition to all previously unpublished notes and essays by Tolkien connected with the essay, the book discusses the subject of Tolkien s languages in the wider context of modern fantasy, including the Peter Jackson Hobbit and Lord of the Rings films and Game of Thrones."

An Atlas of Tolkien

  • Filename: an-atlas-of-tolkien.
  • ISBN: 1626864934
  • Release Date: 2015-10-15
  • Number of pages: 256
  • Author: David Day
  • Publisher:



J. R. R. Tolkien’s fictional universe is as vast as the human imagination, so an atlas is a helpful tool to get around. Consider this book your navigational guide to Middle-earth and the Undying Lands. Maps, images, and vivid descriptions in full color create an enchanting reference to all the fantastical places and creatures that sprung from Tolkien’s mind. The deluxe, heat-burnished cover makes this a charming addition to your Tolkien library. This work is unofficial and is not authorized by the Tolkien Estate or HarperCollins Publishers.

The Happiness Project

  • Filename: the-happiness-project.
  • ISBN: 9780061962066
  • Release Date: 2009-12-29
  • Number of pages: 336
  • Author: Gretchen Rubin
  • Publisher: Harper Collins



“This book made me happy in the first five pages.” —AJ Jacobs, author of The Year of Living Biblically: One Man's Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible Award-winning author Gretchen Rubin is back with a bang, with The Happiness Project. The author of the bestselling 40 Ways to Look at Winston Churchill has produced a work that is “a cross between the Dalai Lama’s The Art of Happiness and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love.” (Sonya Lyubomirsky, author of The How of Happiness: A Scientific Approach to Getting the Life You Want) In the vein of Julie and Julia, The Happiness Project describes one person’s year-long attempt to discover what leads to true contentment. Drawing at once on cutting-edge science, classical philosophy, and real-world applicability, Rubin has written an engaging, eminently relatable chronicle of transformation.

The Atlas of Tolkien e tm s Middle Earth

  • Filename: the-atlas-of-tolkien-e-tm-s-middle-earth.
  • ISBN: 0008194513
  • Release Date: 2017-01-26
  • Number of pages: 224
  • Author: Karen Wynn Fonstad
  • Publisher: HarperCollins



Find your way through every part of J.R.R. Tolkienâe(tm)s great creation, from the Middle-earth of The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings to the undying lands of the Westâe¦ The Atlas of Tolkienâe(tm)s Middle-earth is an essential guide to the geography of Middle-earth, from its founding in the Elder Days âe" as recounted in The Silmarillion âe" to the Third Age of The Lord of the Rings, including the journeys of Bilbo, Frodo and the Fellowship of the Ring. Hundreds of maps and diagrams survey the journeys of the principal characters day by day âe" including all the battles and key locations of the First, Second and Third Ages. Plans and descriptions of castles, buildings and distinctive landforms accompany thematic maps describing climate, vegetation, languages and population throughout the history of Middle-earth.

The Atlas of Middle earth

  • Filename: the-atlas-of-middle-earth.
  • ISBN: 9780547524405
  • Release Date: 2014-06-10
  • Number of pages: 224
  • Author: Karen Wynn Fonstad
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt



Karen Wynn Fonstad's THE ATLAS OF MIDDLE-EARTH is an essential volume that will enchant all Tolkien fans. Here is the definitive guide to the geography of Middle-earth, from its founding in the Elder Days through the Third Age, including the journeys of Bilbo, Frodo, and the Fellowship of the Ring. Authentic and updated -- nearly one third of the maps are new, and the text is fully revised -- the atlas illuminates the enchanted world created in THE SILMARILLION, THE HOBBIT, and THE LORD OF THE RINGS. Hundreds of two-color maps and diagrams survey the journeys of the principal characters day by day -- including all the battles and key locations of the First, Second, and Third Ages. Plans and descriptions of castles, buildings, and distinctive landforms are given, along with thematic maps describing the climate, vegetation, languages, and population distribution of Middle-earth throughout its history. An extensive appendix and an index help readers correlate the maps with Tolkien's novels.

Guide to Tolkien s World

  • Filename: guide-to-tolkien-s-world.
  • ISBN: 1571458786
  • Release Date: 2002
  • Number of pages: 287
  • Author: David Day
  • Publisher: Bounty Books



A guide to all the living creatures that live in Tolkien's Middle Earth and Undying Lands, with information on their physical appearance, characteristics, language, and culture.

No Man s Land

  • Filename: no-man-s-land.
  • ISBN: 9780008100476
  • Release Date: 2016-06-30
  • Number of pages: 576
  • Author: Simon Tolkien
  • Publisher: HarperCollins



From the slums of London to the riches of an Edwardian country house; from the hot, dark seams of a Yorkshire coalmine to the exposed terrors of the trenches, Adam Raine’s journey from boy to man is set against the backdrop of a society violently entering the modern world.

A Hobbit a Wardrobe and a Great War

  • Filename: a-hobbit-a-wardrobe-and-a-great-war.
  • ISBN: 9780718021771
  • Release Date: 2015-06-30
  • Number of pages: 256
  • Author: Joseph Loconte
  • Publisher: Harper Collins



The untold story of how the First World War shaped the lives, faith, and writings of J. R. R. Tolkien and C. S. Lewis The First World War laid waste to a continent and permanently altered the political and religious landscape of the West. For a generation of men and women, it brought the end of innocence—and the end of faith. Yet for J. R. R. Tolkien and C. S. Lewis, the Great War deepened their spiritual quest. Both men served as soldiers on the Western Front, survived the trenches, and used the experience of that conflict to ignite their Christian imagination. Had there been no Great War, there would have been noHobbit, no Lord of the Rings, no Narnia, and perhaps no conversion to Christianity by C. S. Lewis. Unlike a generation of young writers who lost faith in the God of the Bible, Tolkien and Lewis produced epic stories infused with the themes of guilt and grace, sorrow and consolation. Giving an unabashedly Christian vision of hope in a world tortured by doubt and disillusionment, the two writers created works that changed the course of literature and shaped the faith of millions. This is the first book to explore their work in light of the spiritual crisis sparked by the conflict.

The Inquisition

  • Filename: the-inquisition.
  • ISBN: 1250115213
  • Release Date: 2017-05-09
  • Number of pages: 368
  • Author: Taran Matharu
  • Publisher: Square Fish



Fletcher and his demon must prove themselves to be heroes in this New York Times-bestselling fantasy adventure. A year has passed since the Tournament. Fletcher and Ignatius have been locked away in Pelt's dungeons, but now they must face trial at the hands of the Inquisition, a powerful institution controlled by those who would delight in Fletcher's downfall. The trial is haunted by ghosts from the past with shocking revelations about Fletcher's origins, but he has little time to dwell on them; the graduating students of Vocans are to be sent deep into the orc jungles to complete a dangerous mission for the king and his council. If they fail, the orcish armies will rise to power beyond anything the Empire has ever seen. With loyal friends Othello and Sylva by his side, Fletcher must battle his way to the heart of Orcdom and save Hominum from destruction... or die trying, in this sequel to The Novice by Taran Matharu. A New York Times bestseller! A Publisher's Weekly bestseller! "A fast-paced, familiar tale with strong echoes of Tolkien, Pullman, and Pokémon." —Kirkus Reviews

On Stories

  • Filename: on-stories.
  • ISBN: 9780547543055
  • Release Date: 2002-10-28
  • Number of pages: 180
  • Author: C. S. Lewis
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt



The theme of this collection is the excellence of the Story, especially the kind of story dear to Lewis-fantasy and science fiction, which he fostered in an age dominated by realistic fiction. On Stories is a companion volume to Lewis’s collected shorter fiction, The Dark Tower and Other Stories. Edited and with a Preface by Walter Hooper.

DMCA - Contact