Anything Could Happen

  • Filename: anything-could-happen.
  • ISBN: 9780545709552
  • Release Date: 2015-05-26
  • Number of pages: 288
  • Author: Will Walton
  • Publisher: Scholastic Inc.



When you’re in love with the wrong person for the right reasons, anything could happen. Tretch lives in a very small town where everybody's in everybody else's business. Which makes it hard for him to be in love with his straight best friend. For his part, Matt is completely oblivious to the way Tretch feels – and Tretch can’t tell whether that makes it better or worse. The problem with living a lie is that the lie can slowly become your life. For Tretch, the problem isn’t just with Matt. His family has no idea who he really is and what he’s really thinking. The girl at the local bookstore has no clue how off-base her crush on him is. And the guy at school who’s a thorn in Tretch’s side doesn’t realize how close to the truth he’s hitting. Tretch has spent a lot of time dancing alone in his room, but now he’s got to step outside his comfort zone and into the wider world. Because like love, a true self can rarely be contained. Anything Could Happen is a poignant, hard-hitting exploration of love and friendship, a provocative debut that shows that sometimes we have to let things fall apart before we can make them whole again.

Anything Could Happen

  • Filename: anything-could-happen.
  • ISBN: 9781627980272
  • Release Date: 2013-09-09
  • Number of pages: 244
  • Author: B.G. Thomas
  • Publisher: Dreamspinner Press



Austin moves to Kansas City to find Todd, the love of his life. Instead he meets Guy and things get even more confusing.

Anything Can Happen

  • Filename: anything-can-happen.
  • ISBN: 9780983888208
  • Release Date: 2011-03-05
  • Number of pages:
  • Author: Michelle Aiken Wilson
  • Publisher: BookBaby



In this true story, Wilson puts you in her shoes during many poignant and heartbreaking episodes in her life where she experiences death, infidelity, and despair. She also makes it a point to teach you (maybe it’s the educator in her) how to get through those moments in life that you don’t expect, but alter you forever. Anything Can Happen can be used as a complete source to surviving the feelings of hopelessness, loss and depression after a tragic event or the discovery of betrayal. Each chapter concludes with a lesson as well as words of comfort and guidance to help the reader arrive at wholeness. Anything Can Happen begins with the day Wilson lost her first born child, Isaac, to the hands of a murderer. From there she takes you on a journey over the many years in her life where she experienced extreme lows and then explains how she over came each and every one with the grace of God, the love of family, and the support of friends.

Hotel Life

  • Filename: hotel-life.
  • ISBN: 9781469621135
  • Release Date: 2015-04-27
  • Number of pages: 224
  • Author: Caroline Field Levander
  • Publisher: UNC Press Books



What is a hotel? As Caroline Field Levander and Matthew Pratt Guterl show us in this thought-provoking book, even though hotels are everywhere around us, we rarely consider their essential role in our modern existence and how they help frame our sense of who and what we are. They are, in fact, as centrally important as other powerful places like prisons, hospitals, or universities. More than simply structures made of steel, concrete, and glass, hotels are social and political institutions that we invest with overlapping and contradictory meaning. These alluring places uniquely capture the realities of our world, where the lines between public and private, labor and leisure, fortune and failure, desire and despair are regularly blurred. Guiding readers through the story of hotels as places of troublesome possibility, as mazelike physical buildings, as inspirational touchstones for art and literature, and as unsettling, even disturbing, backdrops for the drama of everyday life, Levander and Guterl ensure that we will never think about this seemingly ordinary place in the same way again.

Hotel

  • Filename: hotel.
  • ISBN: 1854593374
  • Release Date: 1997
  • Number of pages: 26
  • Author: Caryl Churchill
  • Publisher: MIT Press



Hotel is in two parts. In the first, Eight Rooms, fourteen people - tourists, couples, business people - spend an ordinary night in a hotel. But they all occupy the same space, and their stories overlap and interweave, creating an exhilarating collage of words, voices, music and choreographed movement. In the second part, a dance piece, we see two nights happening at the same time. Two people find different ways to disappear, while a diary found in the hotel room tells of another extraordinary disappearance. With words by Caryl Churchill, music by Orlando Gough and direction/movement by Ian Spink, Hotel was premiered by Second Stride, who have pioneered a unique brand of performed event. This volume contains Churchill's witty libretto, plus articles on the making of Hotel.

Anything Could Happen

  • Filename: anything-could-happen.
  • ISBN: 0739096966
  • Release Date: 2013-06-01
  • Number of pages: 12
  • Author: Ellie Goulding
  • Publisher: Alfred Publishing Company, Incorporated



The leading single from Ellie Goulding's second album is a huge hit that's inescapable on the radio and featured on numerous television broadcasts. This official sheet music edition lets music makers apply their talent to the upbeat song with a piano part that conveys the accompaniment heard on the hit recording, with vocal melody notated on its own staff, plus complete lyrics and basic chord fingering grids for optional guitar accompaniment.

Anything Can Happen

  • Filename: anything-can-happen.
  • ISBN: 9780547678535
  • Release Date: 2004-05-10
  • Number of pages: 192
  • Author: Roger Rosenblatt
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt



These cautionary notes and hilarious stories pack the Rosenblatt punch. Anything Can Happen offers a class in "Tyranny for Beginners," warns about the snares and devices of dinner parties, explains the mind-set of barbarians, suggests the perfect gift for Mother--a wildebeest--and tells what happens when his dog's barking drives him to thoughts of murder. Roger Rosenblatt forces us to laugh at the silliness of the world we have created, refocuses our minds on what really matters, and alerts us to the injustice and cruelty that lie just below the skin.

The Quantum Universe

  • Filename: the-quantum-universe.
  • ISBN: 9780306819643
  • Release Date: 2012
  • Number of pages: 255
  • Author: Brian Cox
  • Publisher: Da Capo Press



The authors of the best-selling Why Does E=MC2? render fundamental scientific principles in the areas of quantum mechanics comprehensive and engaging to lay readers, working through obscure and vague aspects to explain related natural world observations, how the quantum world was constructed and why it is important. 15,000 first printing.

The God of Small Things

  • Filename: the-god-of-small-things.
  • ISBN: 014302857X
  • Release Date: 2002
  • Number of pages: 339
  • Author: Arundhati Roy
  • Publisher: Penguin Books India



International No 1 Bestseller. Winner Of The 1997 Booker Prize &Nbsp;

Ribblestrop

  • Filename: ribblestrop.
  • ISBN: 9781442499065
  • Release Date: 2014-08-19
  • Number of pages: 384
  • Author: Andy Mulligan
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster



When your school’s motto is “Life is dangerous,” you know that anything can happen—and everything does! This raucous tale of education gone awry is “rollicking, ridiculous, and captivating,” according a Bulletin starred review. There’s no school that’s quite like Ribblestrop, complete with roofless dormitories, distracted teachers, and a perilous underground labyrinth. And then there are the students! You’ll meet Sanchez, a Colombian gangster’s son hiding from kidnappers; Millie, an outcast arsonist and self-confessed wild child; Caspar, the landlady’s spoiled grandson; the helpful but hapless Sam and his best friend Ruskin, plus a handful of orphans from overseas who are just happy to have beds—even if they are located in the roofless part of the building. With the “crazy-school appeal of Hogwarts and the grim humor of Lemony Snicket” (The Independent), Ribblestrop, which was awarded the Children’s Fiction Prize by The Guardian, is sure to delight the most mischievous among us.

The Great Gatsby

  • Filename: the-great-gatsby.
  • ISBN: 074324639X
  • Release Date: 2003-05-27
  • Number of pages: 165
  • Author: F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster



The exemplary novel of the Jazz Age, F. Scott Fitzgeralds' third book, The Great Gatsby (1925), stands as the supreme achievement of his career. T. S. Eliot read it three times and saw it as the "first step" American fiction had taken since Henry James; H. L. Mencken praised "the charm and beauty of the writing," as well as Fitzgerald's sharp social sense; and Thomas Wolfe hailed it as Fitzgerald's "best work" thus far. The story of the fabulously wealthy Jay Gatsby and his love for the beautiful Daisy Buchanan, of lavish parties on Long Island at a time when, The New York Times remarked, "gin was the national drink and sex the national obsession," it is an exquisitely crafted tale of America in the 1920s that resonates with the power of myth. A novel of lyrical beauty yet brutal realism, of magic, romance, and mysticism, The Great Gatsby is one of the great classics of twentieth-century literature.

Just One Day

  • Filename: just-one-day.
  • ISBN: 9781448172764
  • Release Date: 2013-01-10
  • Number of pages: 400
  • Author: Gayle Forman
  • Publisher: Random House



From the author of the international bestseller, IF I STAY, now a major film starring Chloe Grace Moretz. When sheltered American good girl Allyson "LuLu" Healey first meets laid-back Dutch actor Willem De Ruiter at an underground performance of Twelfth Night in England, there’s an undeniable spark. After just one day together, that spark bursts into a flame, or so it seems to Allyson, until the following morning, when she wakes up after a whirlwind day in Paris to discover that Willem has left. Over the next year, Allyson embarks on a journey to come to terms with the narrow confines of her life, and through Shakespeare, travel, and a quest for her almost-true-love, to break free of those confines. Perfect for fans of John Green, Just One Day is the first in a sweepingly romantic duet of novels. Willem’s story – Just One Year – is out now.

Nausea

  • Filename: nausea.
  • ISBN: 9780811222525
  • Release Date: 2013-03-25
  • Number of pages: 192
  • Author: Jean-Paul Sartre
  • Publisher: New Directions Publishing



Sartre's greatest novel — and existentialism's key text — now introduced by James Wood. Nausea is the story of Antoine Roquentin, a French writer who is horrified at his own existence. In impressionistic, diary form he ruthlessly catalogs his every feeling and sensation. His thoughts culminate in a pervasive, overpowering feeling of nausea which “spreads at the bottom of the viscous puddle, at the bottom of our time — the time of purple suspenders and broken chair seats; it is made of wide, soft instants, spreading at the edge, like an oil stain.” Winner of the 1964 Nobel Prize in Literature (though he declined to accept it), Jean-Paul Sartre — philosopher, critic, novelist, and dramatist — holds a position of singular eminence in the world of French letters. La Nausée, his first and best novel, is a landmark in Existential fiction and a key work of the twentieth century.

DMCA - Contact