Anarchy state and utopia

  • Filename: anarchy-state-and-utopia.
  • ISBN: UOM:39015000132699
  • Release Date: 1974
  • Number of pages: 367
  • Author: Robert Nozick
  • Publisher:



Winner of the 1975 National Book Award, this brilliant and widely acclaimed book is a powerful philosophical challenge to the most widely held political and social positions of our age--liberal, socialist, and conservative.

Anarchy State and Utopia

  • Filename: anarchy-state-and-utopia.
  • ISBN: 9781118880470
  • Release Date: 2015-06-22
  • Number of pages: 240
  • Author: Lester H. Hunt
  • Publisher: John Wiley & Sons



Anarchy, State, and Utopia: An Advanced Guide presents a comprehensive and accessible introduction to the ideas expressed in Robert Nozick’s highly influential 1974 work on free-market libertarianism—considered one of the most important and influential works of political philosophy published in the latter half of the 20th-century. Makes accessible all the major ideas and arguments presented in Nozick’s complex masterpiece Explains, as well as critiques, Robert Nozick’s theory of free market libertarianism Enables a new generation of readers to draw their own conclusions about the wealth of timely ideas on individualism and libertarian philosophy Indicates where Nozick’s theory has explanatory power, where it is implausible, and where there are loose ends with further work to be done

Robert Nozick

  • Filename: robert-nozick.
  • ISBN: 0804718563
  • Release Date: 1991
  • Number of pages: 168
  • Author: Jonathan Wolff
  • Publisher: Stanford University Press



Robert Nozick's Anarchy, State, and Utopia is one of the works which dominate contemporary debate in political philosophy. Drawing on traditional assumptions associated with individualism and libertarianism, Nozick mounts a powerful argument for a minimal "night-watchman" state and challenges the views of many contemporary philosophers, most notably John Rawls. This book is the first full-length study of Nozick's work and of the debates to which it has given rise. Wolff situates Nozick's work in the context of current debates and examines the traditions which have influenced his thought. He then critically reconstructs the key arguments of Anarchy, State, and Utopia, focusing on Nozick's doctrine of rights, his derivation of the minimal state, and his Entitlement Theory of Justice. Wolff subjects Nozick's reasoning to rigorous scrutiny and argues that, despite the seductive simplicity of Nozick's libertarianism, it is, in the end, neither plausible nor wholly coherent. The book concludes by assessing Nozick's place in contemporary political philosophy.

Exploring Nozick

  • Filename: exploring-nozick.
  • ISBN: 185972485X
  • Release Date: 1996-01-01
  • Number of pages: 184
  • Author: Simon A. Hailwood
  • Publisher:



Using the liberal political aspiration of neutrality as a unifying theme, this book aims to go beyond the usual discussion of Nozick and his well known views on anarchy, state, and utopia. It attempts to discuss his views on later related issues, and how they connect to the earlier ones.

A Theory of Justice

  • Filename: a-theory-of-justice.
  • ISBN: 0674042581
  • Release Date: 2009-07-01
  • Number of pages: 560
  • Author: John Rawls
  • Publisher: Harvard University Press



Since it appeared in 1971, John Rawls's "A Theory of Justice" has become a classic. The author has now revised the original edition to clear up a number of difficulties he and others have found in the original book. Rawls aims to express an essential part of the common core of the democratic tradition--justice as fairness--and to provide an alternative to utilitarianism, which had dominated the Anglo-Saxon tradition of political thought since the nineteenth century. Rawls substitutes the ideal of the social contract as a more satisfactory account of the basic rights and liberties of citizens as free and equal persons. "Each person," writes Rawls, "possesses an inviolability founded on justice that even the welfare of society as a whole cannot override." Advancing the ideas of Rousseau, Kant, Emerson, and Lincoln, Rawls's theory is as powerful today as it was when first published.

Examined Life

  • Filename: examined-life.
  • ISBN: 9780671725013
  • Release Date: 1990-12-15
  • Number of pages: 308
  • Author: Robert Nozick
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster



PHILOSOPHY/EASTERN RELIGIONS

Philosophical Explanations

  • Filename: philosophical-explanations.
  • ISBN: 0674664795
  • Release Date: 1981
  • Number of pages: 764
  • Author: Robert Nozick
  • Publisher: Harvard University Press



Nozick analyzes fundamental issues, such as the identity of the self, knowledge and skepticism, free will, the foundations of ethics, and the meaning of life

Robert Nozick

  • Filename: robert-nozick.
  • ISBN: 0521006716
  • Release Date: 2002-02-21
  • Number of pages: 230
  • Author: David Schmidtz
  • Publisher: Cambridge University Press



A 2002 introductory volume to Robert Nozick in a new series, Contemporary Philosophy in Focus.

The Libertarian Idea

  • Filename: the-libertarian-idea.
  • ISBN: 1551114216
  • Release Date: 2001-03-05
  • Number of pages: 367
  • Author: Jan Narveson
  • Publisher: Broadview Press



Libertarianism is both a philosophy and a political view. The key concepts defining Libertarianism are: Individual Rights as inherent to human beings, not granted by government; a Spontaneous Order through which people conduct their daily interactions and through which society is organized independent of central (government) direction; the Rule of Law which dictates that everyone is free to do as they please so long as they do not infringe upon the rights of others; a Divided and Limited Government, checked by written constitution; Free Markets in which price and exchange is agreed upon mutually by individuals; Virtue of Production whereby the productive labour of the individual and any translation of that labour into earnings belongs, by right, to the individual who should not have to sacrifice those earnings to taxes; and Peace which has, throughout history, most commonly been disrupted by the interests of the ruling class or centralized government.

The Ethics of Liberty

  • Filename: the-ethics-of-liberty.
  • ISBN: 0814775594
  • Release Date: 2003-02-01
  • Number of pages: 308
  • Author: Murray N. Rothbard
  • Publisher: NYU Press



In his new introduction to this current edition of this classic in the field originally published in 1982, Hoppe (economics, U. of Nevada, Las Vegas--as was the late author) extols Rothbard's marriage of the "value-free" science of economics with the normative enterprise of ethics and their offspring: libertarianism. Discussion areas are: natural law, a theory of liberty, the state vs. liberty, modern alternative theories of liberty, and toward a theory of strategy for liberty.

Deleting the State

  • Filename: deleting-the-state.
  • ISBN: 081269614X
  • Release Date: 2008
  • Number of pages: 129
  • Author: Aeon J. Skoble
  • Publisher: Open Court Publishing Company



Is the state a necessary evil? Or can we hope to evolve beyond it? This book, in the tradition of Robert Nozick's Anarchy, State, and Utopia, sheds new light on persistent philosophical questions about the nature and justification of political authority.

Invariances

  • Filename: invariances.
  • ISBN: 0674006313
  • Release Date: 2001
  • Number of pages: 416
  • Author: Robert Nozick
  • Publisher: Harvard University Press



Casting cultural controversies in a whole new light, an eminent philosopher presents bold, new theories that take into account scientific advances in physics, evolutionary biology, economics, and cognitive neurosience.

DMCA - Contact